5 All-Time Great Bowlers In The IPL

When the IPL was introduced in 2008 for the first time, the greatest fear in the minds of cricket fans was for bowlers acquiring no importance in the game. The bowlers did not concede to defeat. Instead, they innovated. The knuckle ball, the slower bouncer, the wrong one, the carrom ball, etc. are the new weapons in the artillery of a bowler, who is battling against the big bats and the small grounds.

We have seen some high-class bowling over the years in the IPL. Here are the top-5 all-time wicket-takers in the competition:

Dwayne Bravo

5. Dwayne Bravo (122 wickets)
Once upon a time, a consistent player for West Indies in all three formats of the game, currently Dwayne Bravo, is the leading name amongst those who play in T20 leagues all around the globe. The ‘Champion’ is an all-rounder who has plenty of medium pace variations up his sleeves.

A bulk of his 122 IPL wickets was taken while playing in the yellow jersey for the Chennai Super Kings. Dwayne Bravo will be back with the CSK team this year after playing for Gujarat lions in the last season.

piyush chawla

4. Piyush Chawla(126 wickets)
The chubby leg-spinner from Uttar Pradesh is not an enormous success at the International level but he has certainly established himself in the IPL. Handy with the bat in the later stages of a match, Chawla bowls a googly that only a few can decipher.

After playing for the Kings XI Punjab team for the first six years, Chawla became a part of the Kolkata Knight Riders team where he flourished successfully. He will continue playing for the KKR in the 2018 Season as well.

Harbhajan Singh

3. Harbhajan Singh (127 wickets)
The veteran Indian off-spinner, who has snared 711 international wickets, is bound to be in the top names of the domestic T20. Harbhajan Singh has been a consistent performer in the IPL and has also won matches for his franchise with the bat at times.

Harbhajan has been one of the icon figures for Mumbai all these years. This year, however, he will don a yellow jersey as we will see him playing for Chennai Super Kings.

Amit Mishra

2. AmitMishra(134 wickets)
Amit Mishra, who could not establish himself in the Indian team largely due to his poor fitness, is a maverick when it comes to the IPL. The wily leg-spinner has turn and speed variations as his major weapons.

Mishra proved to be a vital cog in the wheel for Deccan Chargers in the initial years. He shifted to the Delhi Daredevils in 2015 and will play for the same team in 2018. Amit Mishra holds the record of most hat-tricks in the IPL (3 Hat-trick).


1. Lasith Malinga(154 wickets)
The Sri Lankan sling bowler is a giant when it comes to bowling with the white ball. Hailed as the greatest death bowler in the T20s, Mumbai Indians struck gold when they bought Malinga in the team in the 2009 IPL season.

Lasith Malinga has a bowling average of 19.01, which the lowest for anyone who has taken more than 40 IPL wickets. The injuries and poor fitness have ended his career in the IPL but he will be seen as the bowling mentor for Mumbai team in the 2018 IPL Season.

The following two tabs change content below.

Omkar M.

26, Aspiring cricket writer, Qualified MCA scorer & humble follower of the game. Engineer. Occasionally tweets on Astronomy, History & Heritage. Marathi माणुस.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *