Rahul’s knock in vain as RR beat KXIP

Rahul's knock in vain as RR beat KXIP

IPL 2018, 40th Match, Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab – Rajasthan Royals won by 15 runs

Tuesday, May 08, 2018, Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Match Wrap:

Wicket keepers from both the sides have excelled with the bat scoring more than half of their respective team total, which is being rightly termed as the “Battle of the Wicket keepers”. Batting in the middle order has not worked and since opening the innings against Delhi, Buttler is making wonders with the bat registering three fifties in as many games.

During the chase, KXIP were reduced to 33 for the loss of 3 wickets in the first six overs. This is their lowest power play score in this season. Though Lokesh Rahul held one end tight with his unbeaten 95*, Punjab kept losing wickets at the other end and went on to lose the match by 15 runs in the end.

Punjab’s middle order batting has once again been exposed as only Marcus Stoinis (other than Rahul) managed to get to double figures. Both teams sent in a pinch hitter at no. 3 (Gowtham for Rajasthan and Ashwin for Punjab) but none of these moves have worked as both failed with the bat.

Rahul with his unbeaten 95* is the current Orange cap holder with 471 runs to his name. Andrew Tye (KXIP) picked up 4 wickets in this game to take his wickets tally to 16, which earned him the Purple cap.

With the result of this match, Kings XI Punjab are still at the third position with 12 points while Rajasthan Royals climbed up 2 spots to take the sixth position with 8 points to their name.

In their respective next games, RR will host CSK in Jaipur on Friday (May 11) while KXIP will move back to Indore to host KKR on Saturday (May 12).

Match Summary:

Rajasthan Royals – 158/8 in 20 overs (Jos Buttler – 82, Sanju Samson – 22, Andrew Tye – 4/34, Mujeeb ur Rahman – 2/21) beat Kings XI Punjab – 143/7 in 20 overs (Lokesh Rahul – 95, Marcus Stoinis – 11, Krishnappa Gowtham – 2/12, Ben Stokes – 1/13) by 15 runs

Player of the Match:

Jos Buttler (RR) – 82 runs, a stumping and affected a run-out!

Orange Cap:

Lokesh Rahul (KXIP) – 471 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 16 wickets


Rajasthan Royals:

Playing XI: Jos Buttler(wk), Ajinkya Rahane(c), Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Stuart Binny, Mahipal Lomror, Jofra Archer, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jaydev Unadkat, Ish Sodhi, Anureet Singh

Bench: Heinrich Klaasen, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ankit Sharma, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Ben Laughlin, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, D’Arcy Short, Rahul Tripathi, Shreyas Gopal

Kings XI Punjab:

Playing XI: Lokesh Rahul(wk), Chris Gayle, Akshdeep Nath, Karun Nair, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Bench: Yuvraj Singh, David Miller, Aaron Finch, Barinder Sran, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot

** Image credits to Zee News

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *