Rishabh Pant stars in Delhi’s win against RR

Rishabh Pant stars in Delhi's win against RR

IPL 2018, 32nd Match, Delhi Daredevils (DD) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR) – Delhi Daredevils won by 4 runs (DLS method)

Wednesday, May 02, 2018, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Match Wrap:

Not a great news at the start of the match as rain welcomed both the teams at the Feroz Shah Kotla. The Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opted to bowl first in a game that was reduced to 18-overs apiece. However, only 17.1 overs were bowled in Delhi’s innings with the rain making another appearance and Rajasthan’s chase was later cut short to just 12 overs.

Prithvi Shaw (47 off 25) and Shreyas Iyer (50 off 35) combined to give Delhi a great start after losing Colin Munro for a golden duck! Rishabh Pant (69 off 29 balls), walked in at no. 4, also played his shots striking the ball at a rate of over 230.

With his explosive innings at the Kotla last night, Pant has gone past Ambati Rayudu (370 runs) to become the leading run scorer in the tournament with 375 runs against his name. On a lighter note, he also hit 40 fours, which is also the highest at this point in the ongoing season. Punjab’s Lokesh Rahul with 34 fours is at the second place in this list.

Delhi finished their innings with 196/6 on the board in 17.1 overs. With the rain making a second appearance in the game, Delhi did not play their remaining 5 deliveries and RR’s target was adjusted to 151 in 12 overs.

During the chase, Jos Buttler opening the innings, registered an 18-ball Fifty, which is also the third fastest in the ongoing season. Jos scored 67 runs off just 26 deliveries with 4 fours and 7 sixes. However, in the end this mighty effort even wasn’t enough as Rajasthan fell short by just 4 runs.

Match Summary:

Delhi Daredevils – 196/6 in 17.1 overs (Rishabh Pant – 69, Shreyas Iyer – 50, Jayadev Unadkat – 3/46) beat Rajasthan Royals – 146/5 in 12 overs (Jos Buttler – 67, D’Arcy Short – 44, Trent Boult – 2/26, Amit Mishra – 1/12) by 4 runs (DLS method)

Player of the Match:

Rishabh Pant (DD) – 69 runs and a stumping

Orange Cap:

Rishabh Pant (DD) – 375 runs

Purple Cap:

Trent Boult (DD) – 13 wickets


Delhi Daredevils:

Playing XI:

Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult

Bench: Jason Roy, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gautam Gambhir, Mohammed Shami, Harshal Patel, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Junior Dala, Rahul Tewatia

Rajasthan Royals:

Playing XI: Ajinkya Rahane (c), D’Arcy Short, Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni

Bench: Ben Laughlin, Stuart Binny, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen, Ish Sodhi, Mahipal Lomror

** Photo credits to IndiaTVNews

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *