Table toppers India thump Thailand Women

Table toppers India thump Thailand Women

Women’s T20I Asia Cup 2018, 5th Match, India Women vs Thailand Women – India Women won by 66 runs

Monday, June 04, 2018, Royal Selangor Club, Kuala Lampur

Match Wrap:                                                       

India Women have defeated Thailand Women by 66 runs in the fifth match of the Women’s T20I Asia Cup courtesy an all-round display from their captain Harmanpreet Kaur. This is the second win in this ongoing tournament for India women in as many games.

India have rested their experienced batter Mithali Raj for this game and their batting clearly struggled against the inexperienced Thailand bowling attack. India’s newcomer Mona Meshram took 45 deliveries for her 32 and with the help of a 17-ball 27 from Harmanpreet Kaur in the end, India Women got to 132 for 4 in their 20 overs.

Chasing a below par total, Thailand only scored 66 for the loss of 8 wickets in their 20 overs with Boochatham being their top scorer with 21 runs. Indian captain Harmanpreet Kaur is the pick of the bowlers in this game. She has conceded just 11 runs while picking up 3 top-order wickets.

Deepti Sharma too contributed to this comprehensive win picking up 2 wickets and affecting a run-out. With an unbeaten 17-ball 27 with the bat and 3 wickets with the ball, Harmanpreet Kaur has been adjudged as the ‘Player of the Match’. This is the fifth time Kaur got this award in her 77-match T20I career.

With this win, India Women are sitting prettily at the top with 4 points (2 wins in 2 games). They also have a huge Net Run Rate (+5.20) courtesy a big win against Malaysia in the tournament opener on Sunday (June 03).

Match Summary:

India Women – 132/4 in 20 overs (Mona Meshram – 32, Smriti Mandhana – 29, Wongpaka Liengprasert – 2/16, Ratanaporn Padunglerd – 1/16) beat Thailand Women – 66/8 in 20 overs (Nattaya Boochatham – 21, Naruemol Chaiwai – 14, Harmanpreet Kaur – 3/11, Deepti Sharma – 2/16) by 66 runs

Player of the Match:

Harmanpreet Kaur (India Women) – unbeaten 27* runs & 3 wickets


India Women:

Playing XI: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Veda Krishnamurthy, Ekta Bisht, Shikha Pandey, Mona Meshram, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Pooja Vastrakar, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Poonam Yadav

Bench: Mithali Raj, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Jemimah Rodrigues

Thailand Women:

Playing XI: Sornnarin Tippoch (c), Nattaya Boochatham, Naruemol Chaiwai, Ratanaporn Padunglerd, Chanida Sutthiruang, Wongpaka Liengprasert, Nattakan Chantam, Sirintra Saengsakaorat, Suleeporn Laomi, Nannapat Khoncharoenkai (wk), O Khamchompu

Bench: Sainammin Saenya, Arriya Yenyueak, Rosenan Kanoh, N Saensong

** Photo credits to CricketAddictor

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *