India clinch ODI Series against England  

India clinch ODI Series against England

Third ODI, India Women vs England Women – India Women won by 8 wickets

Thursday, April 12, 2018, Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur

Match Wrap:

England have started their tour of India on a great note beating India in the first match of the Women’s T20I Triseries by a margin of 7 wickets. However, the ending of the story is not at all in their favor losing the ODI series in Nagpur to India.

India Women convincingly defeated England Women by a margin of 8 wickets in the third and final ODI on Thursday (April 12) to win the three match series by 2 – 1. India will now recover from the disappointment after losing the ODI series to Australia by 0 – 3.

England won the toss and opted to bat first, however, they were able to score just 201 runs losing 9 wickets in their 50 overs. England Wicketkeeper Jones top scored with her 94 with a next best score of 36 by Heather Knight. However, the target is below par and is never going to enough in a do-or-die game.

In the chase, India lost two quick wickets inside 7 overs to Anya Shrubsole. Later, Smriti Mandhana (53) combined with Mithali Raj to take India into a pole position before retiring hurt due to heat cramps. Deepti Sharma walking in at no. 5 scored an unbeaten half-century to take India to victory.

Mithali Raj remained unbeaten at the other end with a 74* to her name. This is her 50th half-century in ODIs and now have 56 fifty-plus scores. Both these records are most for any player in Women ODIs.

Match Summary:

India Women – 202/2 in 45.2 overs (Amy Ellen Jones – 94, Heather Knight – 36, Rajeshwari Gayakwad – 2/32, Deepti Sharma – 2/35) beat England Women – 201/9 in 50 overs (Mithali Raj – 74*, Deepti Sharma – 54*, Anya Shrubsole – 2/37) by 8 wickets

Player of the Match:

Deepti Sharma (India)

Player of the Series:

Smriti Mandhana (India)


India Women:

Playing XI: Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Sushma Verma (wk), Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Vastrakar, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Bench: Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Shikha Pandey

England Women:

Playing XI: Danielle Wyatt, Tammy Beaumont (wk), Amy Ellen Jones, Heather Knight (c), Natalie Sciver, Fran Wilson, Georgia Elwiss, Anya Shrubsole, Danielle Hazell, Alex Hartley, Sophie Ecclestone

Bench: Kate Cross, Alice Davidson Richards, Natasha Farrant, Katie George, Jenny Gunn, Bryony Smith

ODI Series Schedule:

Practice Match: India A Women vs England Women, April 03. Venue: Nagpur

ODI #1: India Women vs England Women, April 06. Venue: Nagpur
ODI #2: India Women vs England Women, April 09. Venue: Nagpur
ODI #3: India Women vs England Women, April 12. Venue: Nagpur

** Photo credits to Zee News

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *