India Beat Sri Lanka Women by 7 Wickets

India beat Sri Lanka Women by 7 wickets

Women’s Asia Cup 2018, 12th Match, India Women vs Sri Lanka Women

Thursday, June 07, 2018, Royal Selangor Club, Kuala Lumpur

Match Wrap:

Batting first, Sri Lanka scored just 107 for 7 in their 20 overs. Only two of their batters (Hasini Perera and Yasoda Mendis) have managed to get to double digit scores with 8 Extras being their third highest score in this game. India bowled economically not letting Sri Lanka off the hook in this do-or-die game.

Chasing 108 to win, India literally crawled their way to victory in the 19th over losing 3 wickets in the process. Veda Krishnamurthy and Anuja Patil shared an unbeaten 40* run stand for the fourth wicket to help India get a win before the important match against Pakistan on Saturday (June 09).

With the result in this game, India are now back to the top position in the points table with a better Net Run Rate (NRR) over Pakistan and Bangladesh. All these three teams have 6 points each having played 4 matches.

To make it to the final, India have to beat Pakistan in their only remaining game. If India lose to Pakistan, they will want Malaysia to beat Bangladesh to help them join Pakistan in the final. However, looking at the current form, Bangladesh Women and the winner of ‘India Women vs Pakistan Women’ are likely to play in the finals on Sunday (June 10).

Match Summary:

India Women – 110/3 in 18.5 overs (Veda Krishnamurthy – 29*, Harmanpreet Kaur – 24, Nilakshi de Silva – 1/12, Oshadi Ranasinghe – 1/15) beat Sri Lanka Women – 107/7 in 20 overs (Hasini Perera – 46*, Yasoda Mendis – 27, Ekta Bisht – 2/20, Anuja Patil – 1/19) by 7 wickets

Player of the Match:

Anuja Patil (Ind W) – Unbeaten 19* runs and 1/19 in her 4 overs.


Indian Women:

Playing XI: Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jhulan Goswami, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Ekta Bisht, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav

Bench: Pooja Vastrakar, Mona Meshram, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jemimah Rodrigues

Sri Lanka Women:

Playing XI: Yasoda Mendis, Nipuni Hansika, Anushka Sanjeewani, Hasini Perera (c), Rebeca Vandort (wk), Oshadi Ranasinghe, Nilakshi de Silva, Shashikala Siriwardene, Sugandika Kumari, Udeshika Prabodhani, Malsha Shehani

Bench: Inoka Ranaweera, Achini Kulasuriya, Harshitha Madavi, Inoshi Priyadharshani

** Photo credits to Cricket365

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *