India beat Pakistan to reach Women’s Asia Cup Final

India beat Pakistan to reach Women's Asia Cup Final

Women’s Asia Cup 2018, 13th Match, India Women vs Pakistan Women – India Women won by 7 wickets

Saturday, June 09, 2018, Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur

Match Wrap:

Opted to bat first, Pakistan Women kept on losing wickets in regular intervals. This has affected their run rate due to which they finished with just 72 for 7 in 20 overs. Sadly, only two of their 9 batters have reached to double-digit scores. Ekta Bisht is the pick of Indian bowlers with 3 wickets in her 4 overs while conceding just 14 runs.

Chasing a very low target, two thirty-plus scores from Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur helped India seal the game. Surprisingly, the other three Indian batters to come to the crease have the scores of zero! Mithali Raj and Deepti Sharma departed for a duck while Anuja Patil remained unbeaten on 0*.

India defeated Pakistan by 7 wickets to finish at the top of the points table with 8 points. This is their eighth victory in this format against Pakistan Women in 10 T20Is played so far.

With this victory, India booked a place in the Women’s Asia Cup final while Pakistan Women will have to wait for the result of Bangladesh vs Malaysia to see their fate. If Bangladesh wins, India Women and Bangladesh Women will play in the final. If Malaysia wins it, then it will be India Women vs Pakistan Women in the final.

Bangladesh Women have defeated India by 7 wickets at the league stage in the ongoing tournament earlier. And if they beat Malaysia in their last league game, it is going to be an interesting Final between India and bangladesh on Sunday (June 10)!

Match Summary:

India Women – 75/3 in 16.1 overs (Sana Mir – 20*, Nahida Khan – 18, Ekta Bisht – 3/14, Shikha Pandey – 1/6) beat Pakistan Women – 72/7 in 20 overs (Smriti Mandhana – 38, Harmanpreet Kaur – 34*, Anam Amin – 2/10, Nashra Sandhu – 1/15) by 7 wickets

Player of the Match:

Ekta Bisht (Ind W) – 3 wickets


India Women:

Playing XI: Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Jhulan Goswami, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Ekta Bisht, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav

Bench: Jemimah Rodrigues, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Mona Meshram

Pakistan Women:

Playing XI: Nahida Khan, Nain Abidi, Bismah Maroof (c), Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Javeria Khan, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Nida Dar, Sana Mir

Bench: Javeria Rauf, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali

** Photo credits to The Indian Wire

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *