England’s chance to create history on Indian soil

England's chance to create history on Indian soil

Third ODI, India Women vs England Women

Thursday, April 11, 2016, Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur

Match Preview:

England tour of India has now come down to the final match of the tour. India Women will host England Women in the third and final ODI at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur on Thursday (April 11). Play starts at 09:00 am IST. Winner of this match will take the ODI series trophy as well.

The ongoing three match ODI series is the fifth bilateral ODI series for England in India and they are still searching for their first series victory on this soil. With the series currently level 1 – 1, England will have their eyes fixed on the trophy to create history.

This is how the results in bilateral ODI series in India between India Women and England Women look like:

In case you missed it, India won the first ODI by 1 wicket in the ongoing series while England made a strong comeback to win the second ODI by 8 wickets to level the series 1 – 1.

India had to consider themselves lucky to win the first ODI, however, their performance in the second ODI on Monday will hurt them most. Home team, India, will have to show a lot of character to come out of that loss to win the trophy in the third game.

Head to Head record:

Starting from 1978 to the second ODI on Monday (April 09), India and England have played 65 Women ODIs against each other in which India won 27 games and England won 36 games with the other two games abandoned.


India Women: Mithali Raj (c), Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav, Sushma Verma (wk), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Jemimah Rodrigues, Pooja Vastrakar, Dayalan Hemalatha

England Women: Danielle Hazell, Heather Knight (c), Anya Shrubsole, Danielle Wyatt, Tammy Beaumont, Jenny Gunn, Amy Ellen Jones (wk), Natasha Farrant, Natalie Sciver, Kate Cross, Fran Wilson, Alex Hartley, Sophie Ecclestone, Bryony Smith, Alice Davidson Richards, Katie George

ODI Series Schedule:

Practice Match: India A Women vs England Women, April 03. Venue: Nagpur

ODI #1: India Women vs England Women, April 06. Venue: Nagpur
ODI #2: India Women vs England Women, April 09. Venue: Nagpur
ODI #3: India Women vs England Women, April 12. Venue: Nagpur


*Photo credits to Hindustan Times

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *