Warriors beat Knight Riders in the first qualifier

Warriors beat Knight Riders in the first qualifier

Caribbean Premier League 2018, Qualifier 1, Guyana Amazon Warriors vs Trinbago Knight Riders – Guyana Amazon Warriors won by 2 wickets

Providence Stadium, Guyana

Match Wrap:

A low scoring thriller in the first Qualifier and Guyana Amazon Warriors held their nerve to emerge on top! Put into bat first, Trinbago Knight Riders got off to an awful start losing McCullum and Munro for a Duck each in the first two overs while their opener Sunil Narine scored just 8 runs. Three scores of 20s by the middle order helped Knight Riders get to a par total – 122 for 7 in their 20 overs.

Chasing 123 to win, Guyana scored at a snail pace getting to the target with just a ball to spare! Hetmyer (39 off 36) and Rutherford (30 off 17) once again played a great hand to take their team home twice in three days against the same opposition! Chris Green of Guyana (4-1-8-2) and Sunil Narine of Trinbago (4-0-9-1) both really bowled well to make this low scoring match very entertaining!

A bit of anti-climax for the Trinbago Knight Riders campaign as they lost this game after a series of victories! However, there is an advantage finishing in the top two of the points table – Trinbago Knight Riders will now have to chance to play in the second Qualifier on Saturday (Sep 15) to see if they can qualify for the finals!

With this victory, Guyana Amazon Warriors booked their place in the CPL 2018 Final and they will have to wait for the result of Saturday’s second Qualifier. The final match will be played at the Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad on Monday (Sep 17).

Match Summary:

Guyana Amazon Warriors – 126/8 in 19.5 overs (Shimron Hetmyer – 39, Sherfane Rutherford – 30, Khary Pierre – 2/18, Sunil Narine – 1/9)beat Trinbago Knight Riders – 122/7 in 20 overs (Colin Ingram – 24, Darren Bravo – 24, Chris Green – 2/8, Rayad Emrit – 2/22) won by 2 wickets

Player of the Match:

Shimron Hetmyer (GAW) – 39 runs with 2 fours and 2 sixes


Guyana Amazon Warriors:

Playing XI: Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo (c), Denesh Ramdin (wk), Darren Bravo, Kevon Cooper, Sunil Narine, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Ali Khan, Khary Pierre

Bench:Nikita Miller, Hamza Tariq, Chris Lynn, Shannon Gabriel, Javon Searles, Anderson Phillip, Amir Jangoo, Terrance Hinds

Trinbago Knight Riders:

Playing XI: Rayad Emrit, Sohail Tanvir, Luke Ronchi (wk), Chadwick Walton, Imran Tahir, Jason Mohammed, Cameron Delport, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Green (c), Romario Shepherd, Sherfane Rutherford

Bench:Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Saurabh Netravalkar, Keemo Paul, Roshon Primus, Gajanand Singh, Akshaya Persaud

** Image credits to Cricket Addictor

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *