T20 Match Review: Australia v New Zealand

T20I Australia v New Zealand : SwamiArmy.in

T20I Australia v New Zealand

Sydney Cricket Ground, Saturday 3rd February


Match Preview


Australia head into the clash with the Blackcaps hoping to reverse a worrying form slump in the shortest form of the game. Despite the success of the BBL, Australia are currently ranked fifth in T20I behind the Blackcaps (2nd) and England (4th).

Australia will start the tri-series against the Blackcaps and England on home ground, before shifting across the Tasman for the finals.

The Blackcaps have proven to be masters of the shortest form of the game. With a line-up that includes Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson and Colin Munro NZ will be more than competitive.

Australia will be hoping for a change in fortunes with David Warner assuming the captaincy from Steve Smith. Warner successfully captained the Hyberbrads to the IPL title in 2016 and will bring some new ideas to an Aussie side injected with BBL talent.

While the Aussies were blown away by England in the ODI series, the T20I squad has been packed with a number of new faces. If Chris Lynn and D’Arcy Short can replicate their BBL form Australia are a good chance of posting a decent total. Aaron Finch remains the second- best batsmen in the world, so expect David Warner to drop down the order at some stage of the tournament.

The Blackcaps have come off a series loss to Pakistan in New Zealand but will fancy their chances against this Aussie side. Martin Guptill and Colin Munro have formed an explosive partnership at the top of the order. Munro became the first player to score three T20I hundreds at the end of 2017. Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi will be looking to put the brakes on the Aussie top-order. Both Kiwi bowlers sit at the top of the T20I rankings.

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler.

PM’s XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2.

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3.

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7.

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10.

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21


The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *