Pink South Surprise India

Pink South Surprise india

South Africa Stay in the Series with India

Match Wrap

Against a sea of pink South Africa struck back against India in the one-day international series. South Africa’s middle order were able to pilot them to victory. Heinrick Klaasen and David Miller were able to get their side across the line.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli was disappointed his side weren’t able to wrap up the series. “You have to take your chances in this,” Kohli said reflecting on his side’s inability to win the key clashes.

India got off to a flier in their innings led by opener Shikar Dhawan. The Indian opener powered his way to a magnificent 109. Indian skipper Virat Kohli was the picture of consistency.

Kohli finished on 75 and would have been disappointed to not go onto another century. The weather played a crucial role in India’s innings. The Indian skipper has hit 393 runs this series and dismissed only twice. India were cruising at 2/200 when lighting stopped play. India will feel a little hard done by as they struggled to regain the ascendancy in their innings. India could only grab 59 runs in the final 10 overs of the innings.

South Africa were 1/43 after seven overs when lighting and rain forced the players off the ground for an hour. When play recommenced, the score was revised to 159 of 20 overs: reducing the match to a T20 run-chase.

Indian spin duo Yadav and Chahal struggled with the damp ball. The South Africans were able to apply some pressure and the duo were punished for 119 runs off 11 overs.

David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen saw the home side claim victory. Miller hit an inviable 39 runs and shared a stand of 72 with Klaasen.

The series moves to Port Elizabeth and India have a chance to claim their first ODI series win in South Africa.

Match Summary

India 7/289 (Dhawan 109, Kohli 75) v South Africa 5/207 (Klaasen 47*, Miller 39, Kuldeep 2-51)

South Africa won by 5 wickets (D/L method)


Virat Kohli(c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur

South Africa: Aiden Markram (c), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khaya Zondo, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen.

SA v India series:

1 February – 1st ODI, Durban (d/n)

4 February – 2nd ODI, Centurion (d)

7 February – 3rd ODI, Cape Town (d/n)

10 February – 4th ODI, Johannesburg (d/n)

13 February – 5th ODI, Port Elizabeth (d/n)

16 February – 6th ODI, Centurion (d/n)



The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *