Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder- Women Big Bash Preview

Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder – WBBL 03

North Sydney Oval, Sydney

9th December, 2017 – 8:30 AM IST

Live Broadcast: Sony Six in India.

The third season of the Women’s Big Bash kicks off on the 9th of December with a battle between the traditional Melbourne/Sydney rivalry as the Renegades clash with the Thunder.


Melbourne Renegades:

Led by New Zealand international Amy Satterthwaite, The Renegades have a talented young squad with the likes of Sophie Molineux and Maitlan Brown. The new additions to the side include experienced hands Amy Satterthwaite, Emma Englis, Claire Koski, Jess Duffin and Hayley Jensen. The one to watch for the Renegades this season, is big hitting Srilankan all-rounder Chamari Attapattu, who has scored 178* against Australia in the ICC Women’s World Cup, earlier this year.

Melbourne Renegades Squad:

Amy Satterthwaite(C), Molly Strano(vc), Chamari Atapattu, Maitlan Brown, Jess Duffin, Kris Britt, Emma Englis, Hayley Jensen, Claire Koski, Sophie Molineux, Jenny Taffs, Lea Tahuhu, Georgia Wareham.

Key Players: Satterthwaite, Strano, Tahuhu, Atapattu, Molineux


Sydney Thunder:

The Thunder will look to rebound from the disappoint of last season with a new look side. The five new additions to their squad this season include NZ Keeper Rachel Priest.

The Thunder have the luxury of including the explosive West Indian Stefanie Taylor and Indian power-house Harmanpreet Kaur in their ranks. Led by Aussie veteran Alex Blackwell, the Thunder’s squad also includes Rachel Haynes and exciting youngster Hannah Trethewy.

Sydney Thunder Women Squad:

Alex Blackwell(C), Rachel Priest, Samantha Bates, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Rene Farrell, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Harmanpreet Kaur, Stafanie Taylor, Naomi Stalenberg, Rachel Trenanman.

Key Players: Taylor, Kaur, Blackwell, Haynes, Priest

Prediction: Melbourne Renegades to win.

The following two tabs change content below.

Shailendra L.

Latest posts by Shailendra L. (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *