Kohli Named ICC Cricketer of The Year – Hail to the King

Kohli Named ICC Cricketer of the Year : SwamiArmy.in

Indian Skipper Virat Kohli capped off an amazing 2017 by being named the ICC Cricketer of the Year. Kohli capped a stellar year with the bat smashing 2203 runs at an average of 77.80 in Test cricket. The Indian Captain hit eight centuries in the qualifying period, including back-to-back double-hundreds against Sri Lanka.

Kohli becomes the second Indian player in a row to take home the ICC’s highest honour. Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin claimed the award in 2016.

Kohli was equally as impressive against the white ball hitting 1818 ODI runs at 82.63 including seven centuries, and 299 T20I runs at a strike rate of 153.

Kohli capped off the night by taking out the ICC ODI Player of the Year, and by beating Steve Smith to the captaincy of the ICC ODI and Test teams of 2017.

The Indian skipper was humble in receiving the ICC’s highest individual honour. “It means a lot to win to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year,” Kohli said. “I won that back in 2012 also but it’s the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it’s a huge honour for me. I’m really honoured and I’d like to thank the ICC for recognising all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides and I want to congratulate all the other winners also.”

Kohli’s 2017 masterclass highlights included 213 and 243 against Sri Lanka. The Indian skipper showed the concentration that makes him one of cricket’s modern-day greats.

India was well represented with Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravichandran Ashwin and Kohli being named in the Test Team of the Year. Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah joined their skipper in the ODI Team of the Year. Yuzvendra Chahal was recognised in the T20I format for his devastating spell of 6-25 against England.


Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year – Steve Smith (Australia)


ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Emergi

ng Cricketer o

f the Year – Hasan Ali (Pakistan)

ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year – Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

ICC Men’s T20I Performance of the Year – Yuzvendra Chahal (6-25 v England) (India)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year – Marais Erasmus

ICC Spirit of Cricket – Anya Shrubsole (England)

ICC Fans Moment of the Year – Pakistan stun India to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017





ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2017 (in batting order): 

  1. Dean Elgar (South Africa)
  2. David Warner (Australia)
  3. Virat Kohli (captain) (India)
  4. Steve Smith (Australia)
  5. Cheteshwar Pujara (India)
  6. Ben Stokes (England)
  7. Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper) (South Africa)
  8. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  9. Mitchell Starc (Australia)
  10. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)
  11. James Anderson (England)


ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2017 (in batting order):

  1. David Warner (Australia)
  2. Rohit Sharma (India)
  3. Virat Kohli (captain) (India)
  4. Babar Azam (Pakistan)
  5. AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  6. Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper) (South Africa)
  7. Ben Stokes (England)
  8. Trent Boult (New Zealand)
  9. Hasan Ali (Pakistan)
  10. Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
  11. Jasprit Bumrah (India)
The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *