Knight Riders soar into the CPL 2018 final

Knight Riders soar into the CPL 2018 final

Caribbean Premier League, Second Qualifier, Trinbago Knight Riders vs St Kitts and Nevis Patriots – Trinbago Knight Riders won by 20 runs

Saturday, September 15, 2018, Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad

Match Wrap:

Put into bat first, Brendon McCullum provided a good start with his 26-ball 43. And their middle order supported him with the bat to get their score over the 150-mark. It was Dwayne Bravo in the end played a cameo, 24 runs off 8 balls, and helped Trinbago finish with 165 for 6 in their 20 overs. The total looked more than enough as their bowlers bowled brilliantly to keep Patriots under check!

During the chase, Ali Khan removed Chris Gayle in the very first over to dent Patriots chances of winning the game. Fawad Ahmed then put a check on run rate picking up 3 wickets and conceding just 13 runs! Sunil Narine though conceded easy runs in his first over pulled back things with 2 wickets. Though Brandon King (33 off 22) and Fabian Allen (32* off 19) threatened to take the game away in the end, Knight Riders won the game by 20 runs.

With this victory, Trinbago Knight Riders storm into finals and will play Guyana Amazon Warriors on Monday (Sep 17). Guyana had defeated Knight Riders in the first qualifier on Wednesday (Sep 12) by a margin of 2 wickets and booked a place in the Final. Losing this second qualifier brings down the curtains on St Kitts and Nevis Patriots campaign in this season.

The final match of CPL 2018 will be played between Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders at the Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad. In CPL 2018, Guyana Amazon Warriors has a 2-1 win-loss record against Trinbago Knight Riders.

Match Summary:

Trinbago Knight Riders – 165/6 in 20 overs (Brendon McCullum – 43, Colin Munro – 29, Sheldon Cottrell – 2/24, Carlos Brathwaite – 1/26) beat St Kitts and Nevis Patriots – 145/8 in 20 overs (Devon Thomas – 35, Brandon King – 33, Fawad Ahmed – 3/13, Sunil Narine – 2/21) by 20 runs

Player of the Match:

Fawad Ahmed (TKR) – 3 wickets


Trinbago Knight Riders:

Playing XI: Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Colin Munro, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Colin Ingram, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo (c), Kevon Cooper, Fawad Ahmed, Anderson Phillip, Ali Khan

Bench:Terrance Hinds, Chris Lynn, Javon Searles, Nikita Miller, Hamza Tariq, Amir Jangoo, Shannon Gabriel, Khary Pierre

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots:

Playing XI: Chris Gayle (c), Evin Lewis, Devon Thomas (wk), Rassie van der Dussen, Anton Devcich, Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Ben Cutting, Carlos Brathwaite, Sheldon Cottrell, Tabraiz Shamsi

Bench:Shamarh Brooks, Jeremiah Louis, Alzarri Joseph, Ibrahim Khaleel, Javelle Glen, Hayden Walsh

** Photo credits to Home of T20

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *