Indian Players Named in ICC Team


India dominate ICC U19 Team of the World Cup

India were rewarded for their domination of the U19 World Cup, with five players named in the team of the tournament.

The side included Indian skipper Prithvi Shaw, player of the final Majot Kalra, Shubman Gill, Anukul Roya and Kamlesh Nagarkoti.

Gill was named player of the tournament on the back of his haul of 372 runs.

A ICC panel that included Ian Bishop, Tom Moody, Anjum Chopra, Jeff Crowe and Shashank Kishore selected the side that included South African Raynard van Tonder as captain.

The five members of India’s title winning squad were joined by South-African keeper Wandile Makwetu and quick bowler Gerald Coetzee.

Kiwi batsman Finn Allen won his spot on the back of his tournament run haul of 338 runs. Windies batsman Alick Athanze was named as 12th man after leading the run scoring charts with the bat.

Team of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018 (in batting order):


Prithvi Shaw (India) –261 runs

Manjot Kalra (India) – 252 runs

Shubman Gill (India) – 372 runs

Finn Allen (New Zealand) – 338 runs

Raynard van Tonder (South Africa, captain) – 348 runs

Wandile Makwetu (wicket-keeper) (South Africa) – 184 runs and 11 dismissals (all catches)

Anukul Roy (India) – 14 wickets

Kamlesh Nagarkoti (India)– 9 wickets

Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 8 wickets

Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan) – 14 wickets

Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan) – 12 wickets

12th man: Alick Athanaze (Windies) – 418 runs


The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *