India Win U/19 World Cup

India’s Champions Win the U/19 World Cup

India’s Champions Win the U/19 World Cup

India have justified their pre-tournament favouritism by winning the decider in New Zealand.

Set a target of 216 to win the title, India’s batsmen were never troubled as they chased down the total with 67 balls to spare. India Coach Rahul Dravid and the playing group are set to enjoy a bonus for their triumph with the BCCI quick to reward India’s young star for a fantastic tournament.

Manjot Kalra proved to be the mainstay of the Indian chase, compiling 101.

Australia were never in the hunt as the Indian bowlers dominated the Aussie top-order. Australia lost 3-27 in a seven over spell and struggled to remain competitive.

Prithvi Shaw and Kalra were untroubled in the chase, batting in partnerships. The opening pair were able to add 71 for the first wicket before the Indian skipper was bowled for 29 in the 12th over.

Klara and wicketkeeper Harvik Desai wrapped up the win to seal India’s triumph in New Zealand.


Match Summary

AUSU19 216 (47.2 Ovs)

INDU19 220/2 (38.5 Ovs)

India U19 won by 8 wkts

India: Prithvi Shaw (c), Manjot Kalra, Shubman Gill, Harvik Desai (wk), Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Anukul Roy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh, Ishan Porel

Australia: Max Bryant, Jack Edwards, Jason Sangha (c), Jonathan Merlo, Param Uppal, Nathan McSweeney, Will Sutherland, Baxter Holt (wk), Zak Evans, Ryan Hadley, Lloyd Pope


*  Dan Gardner is the Head of Content for and Follow him on twitter @Cricket_Dan


The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *