India vs Afghanistan ‘Super Four’ game preview

India vs Afghanistan 'Super Four' game preview

Asia Cup 2018, Super Four, Fifth Match, India vs Afghanistan

Tuesday, September 25, 2018, Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Match Preview:

Afghanistan out to play their last game in the ongoing Asia Cup 2018! There were very unfortunate to say the least, to find themselves in this position after having played great cricket throughout the tournament. They defeated both Sri Lanka and Bangladesh by a bigger margin in the ‘Group’ games while they lost narrowly to both Pakistan and Bangladesh in their two ‘Super Four’ games.

India, on the other hand, are going into this game with the luxury in hand to rest their players for this dead-rubber against Afghanistan. Courtesy a brilliant display in all the three departments so far, India already booked a place in the Asia Cup 2018 finals. In Super Four games, they defeated Bangladesh by a margin of 7 wickets and Pakistan by 9 wickets!

India are undefeated in the Asia Cup so far and the only competitive match they played in this tournament was against Hong Kong! The others were a no match to them and it was a bit shocking to acknowledge this fact. Isn’t It?! India vs Pakistan did not live up to the hype as well on both the occasions! But a good battle is expected between Afghanistan bowlers and Indian batsmen in this game.

Coming to the changes in this game – Afghanistan might swap Samiullah Shenwari with Najibullah Zadran, the change they are making almost every game in this tournament! India, on the other hand, might give a game to both Manish Pandey and Lokesh Rahul in the middle order. Two players among Jadhav, Rayudu and Karthik are expected to be rested. Also, Jasprit Bumrah might be rested for this dead rubber while Khaleel Ahmed who was impressive on debut might take his place.



Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed, Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey


Mohammad Shahzad(w), Ihsanullah Janat, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan(c), Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari, Rashid Khan, Gulbadin Naib, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Javed Ahmadi, Najibullah Zadran, Munir Ahmad, Sayed Shirzad, Sharafuddin Ashraf

** Image credits to Yahoo Cricket

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *