India crush Pakistan in the group game

India crush Pakistan in the group game

Asia Cup 2018, Fifth Match, Group A, India vs Pakistan – India won by 8 wickets

Wednesday, September 19, 2018, Dubai International Stadium, Dubai

Match Wrap:

Bowlers set up a massive victory for India against Pakistan in the much-hyped fifth game in the ongoing Asia Cup 2018. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Kedar Jadhav picked up 3 wickets apiece to dent Pakistan’s chances of getting to post a big total after electing to bat first. Bhuvi was wicket less in his previous five ODIs and he will be relieved man after his ‘Player of the Match’ performance!

Pakistani openers who were on a roll in ODIs in the recent past departed cheaply with the scorecard reading 3 for 2, Fakhar departed for a Duck while Imam scored just 2 runs. Babar Azam (47 off 62) and Shoaib Malik (43 off 67), then stitched an 82-run partnership for the third wicket to help Pakistan recover from the early loss. However, just after Babar and Malik’s departure, floodgates opened and Pakistan were bowled out for just a par total of 162.

Chasing 163 to victory, Indian openers set up the tone upfront with an 86-run partnership for the first wicket – Rohit Sharma scored 52 runs while Shikhar Dhawan made 46 runs. Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik then ensured that India win the game without losing any more wickets. En route to the 8-wkt victory, both Rayudu and Dinesh scored unbeaten 31* runs apiece.

Hardik Pandya injured himself during this game – lower back spasm. At one stage, he was unable to stand and was stretchered off the field. Reports later emerged that he was able to “stand on his foot” and is recovering from the injury. It would be a massive blow for India if he is unavailable for the rest of this tournament.

Match Summary:

India– 164/2 in 29 overs (Shikhar Dhawan – 52, Shikhar Dhawan – 46, Shadab Khan – 1/6, Faheem Ashraf – 1/31) beat Pakistan – 162 all out in 29 overs (Babar Azam – 47, Shoaib Malik – 43, Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 3/15, Kedar Jadhav – 3/23) by 8 wickets

Player of the Match:

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Ind) – 3 wickets



Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench:Manish Pandey, Lokesh Rahul, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, K Khaleel Ahmed


Playing XI: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan

Bench:Shan Masood, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Nawaz, Junaid Khan, Shaheen Afridi

** Photo credits to Stadium Astro

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *