ICC grant ODI status to Hong Kong matches in Asia Cup

ICC grant ODI status to Hong Kong matches in Asia Cup

Asia Cup 2018

International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that all the matches in the upcoming Asia Cup 2018 will be granted ODI status. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Hong Kong are the six teams to feature in this tournament this year while Hong Kong is the only team of these six to not have ‘ODI status’ till date.

“To grant ODI status to all matches in the Asia Cup is a positive step taken by the ICC Board as we continue to take an in-depth look at international cricket structures in relation to our long-term ambition of growing the game and adding to the one billion fans who already follow the sport,” said Dave Richardson, CEO of ICC.

“This decision was informed by our review of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier earlier this year where there was a mix of games with and without international status which proved to be confusing for fans. In order to simplify the situation, we will extend the ICC Cricket World Cup principle of all matches being ODIs to other tournaments where a number of the teams have ODI status and some not, this includes the Asia Cup and ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers,” added Richardson.

“The fact that these events are open to teams beyond the existing 16 teams that currently have ODI status is important and, accordingly, ensuring all matches are granted ODI status is befitting of the events and just reward for the teams that have qualified,” Richardson concluded.

Hong Kong defeated United Arab Emirates (UAE) in the Asia Cup Qualifier final last week to book a place in the Asia Cup. Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are placed in the Group A while India, Pakistan and Hong Kong are placed in Group B.

Hong Kong will play their two group matches against Pakistan on September 16 and India on September 18. If they find themselves lucky enough to beat either Pakistan or India in any of these two games, they will move to Super Four stage which starts from September 21.

** Photo credits to ESPN Cricinfo

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *