Game, Set, Match: India Win the SA ODI Series

Game, Set, Match: India Win the SA ODI Series

Much has been made of India’s inability to win a series outside of Asia. Since 1986 the results have been few and far between. India has traditionally struggled to match the intensity of their playing style at home.

India secured an unassailable 4-1 lead in the series off the back of a Rohit Sharma century.

Sharma, who had been struggling with the bat on tour, looked his old self again as he completed a dominate display that catapulted India to a 7/274.

South Africa struggled to cope with the pressure. Needing a victory to keep their hopes of drawing the series alive, the South Africans were bowled out for 201 inside of 50 overs. Once again it was the dynamic spin duo of Yadav and Chahal that did the damage, the pair taking six wickets between them.

India now have ousted South Africa at the top of the ODI rankings and comes off the back of India surrendering the Test series 2-1.

Sharma found form when India needed him most. The opener stood tall throughout the innings. Rohit was dropped on 96 before polishing off his century off 107 balls.

South Africa were able to fight back with the ball. Lungisani Ngidi finished with 4/51.

South Africa struggled to get any real momentum in the face of a gettable total. Once AB de Villers was dismissed cheaply they lost wickets at regular intervals.

In the aftermath pace bowler Kagiso Rabada was fined 15 percent of his match fee. Rabada was found guilty of breaching the ICC code of conduct for his send off of Indian opener Shikar Dhawan in the eighth over.

The ODI series concludes at Centurion Park in Pretoria with three T20 Internationals to close out India’s South African safari.

Match Summary

IND 274/7 (50.0 Ovs)

RSA 201-all out (42.2 Ovs)

India won by 73 runs



Virat Kohli(c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur

South Africa: Aiden Markram (c), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khaya Zondo, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen.

SA v India series:

1 February – 1st ODI, Durban (d/n)

4 February – 2nd ODI, Centurion (d)

7 February – 3rd ODI, Cape Town (d/n)

10 February – 4th ODI, Johannesburg (d/n)

13 February – 5th ODI, Port Elizabeth (d/n)

16 February – 6th ODI, Centurion (d/n)



The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *