Dinesh Chandimal ruled out of Asia Cup

Dinesh Chandimal ruled out of Asia Cup

Asia Cup 2018

Sri Lankan wicket keeper batsman Dinesh Chandimal has been ruled out of the upcoming Asia Cup which is scheduled to be played in UAE. Chandimal sustained a finger injury while playing Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) T20 League matches last week and the same injury ruled him out of this tournament. Sri Lanka medical assessment team now made it clear that Chandimal need more time to fully recover from the finger injury.

Niroshan Dickwella who was earlier put in the standby list has now been named as replacement of Chandimal in Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup squad. Sri Lanka earlier placed Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Madushanka, Nuwan Pradeep, Shehan Jayasuriya and Lakshan Sadakan on their standby list while announcing their squad for the Asia Cup last week.

“Dinesh Chandimal will be out of the Asia Cup 2018, after it was found that the player will need more recovery time to heal his injury in the finger, which Chandimal sustained; during a match in the concluded SLC T20 League 2018,” said Sri Lanka Cricket in a media release.

“Wicket Keeper / Batsman Niroshan Dickwella will be replacing Chandimal in the 16-member squad. Dickwella was in the standby list of players,” added the media release.

Having made his ODI debut in 2014, Niroshan Dickwella is yet to feature in the Asia Cup tournament. Meanwhile, Sri Lankan spinner Akila Dananjaya will also be not available for Sri Lanka’s first few games in this tournament as he is expecting his first child.

Asia Cup tournament this year will be hosted in UAE and will be played in its traditional ODI format. Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are placed in the Group A while India, Pakistan and Hong Kong (Winners of Asia Cup Qualifiers 2018) are placed in Group B. Sri Lanka will feature in the tournament opener alongside Bangladesh on Saturday (Sep 15) at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai.

Sri Lanka squad for Asia Cup 2018: Angelo Mathews(c), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Dilruwan Perera, Amila Aponso, Kasun Rajitha, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Malinga

** Image credits to ESPN Cricinfo

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *