Breaking News: BlackCaps Crush England

Breaking News: BlackCaps Crush England

T20I England v New Zealand – New Zealand Get the Points Against England  

Wellington, Tuesday 13th February


Match Wrap

England suffered another T20I loss going down to the Blackcaps by 12 runs in Wellington. The Blackcaps were too strong for an English side that is looking for respite before their NZ Test tour.

A third successive defeat means that England will have to record a massive win to stand any chance of making it into the Eden Park final to face Australia on Sunday. Barring a major upset a Trans-Tasman final is all but assured.

New Zealand opted to bat first on a tricky surface, that last time out saw Pakistan dismissed for a subpar score.

Blackcaps opener Martin Guptill blazed 65 off 40 balls. He was joined in a match winning partnership by skipper Kane Williamson who complied 72 off 46 balls. Williamson had luck on his side, as English pace ace botched a simple run out at the bowlers end. The Kiwi skipper will feel he has turned a corner after being under pressure to retain his spot in the T20I side.

England struggled without skipper Eoin Morgan with the bat. The English skipper is expected to miss the rest of the series with injury.

Alex Halles made a dent in the massive total with a brutal 47 and Dawid Malan gave England some hope for an upset with 59 off 40 balls.

It wasn’t to be for England who lost wickets at regular intervals. Mitchell Santer was able to rip through the line-up to leave England short again.

England will need Australia to beat New Zealand in Wellington and then convincingly beat the Kiwis to have any hope of making the Eden Park final.


Match Summary

New Zealand 5/195 (Guptill 65, Williamson 72) v England 9/184 (Malwan 59, Hales 47)

New Zealand won by 12 runs


Player of the Match: Kane Williamson


Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler.

PM’s XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2.

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3.

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7.

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10.

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21



The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *