Bangladesh thrash Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup opener

Asia Cup 2018, First Match, Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka – Bangladesh won by 137 runs

Saturday, September 16, 2018, Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Match Wrap:

Barring Mushfiqur Rahim and Mohammad Mithun, it was a complete batting failure by players from both the sides! Batting first, Bangladesh lost their first two wickets with just a single run on the board. Rahim (144 off 150) and Mithun (63 off 68) then added 133 runs for the third wicket and helped Bangladesh march towards a big score! Lasith Malinga making a comeback in to the ODI colors picked up 4 wickets in his 10 overs while conceding just 23 runs.

On the other hand, Rahim was dropped twice while Mithun was dropped once in this game. Sri Lankan catching and fielding has been sloppy all through the game which made them loose the game by a heavy margin. Sri Lanka, in their previous two ODIs, defeated South Africa at home but they have no clue against Bangladesh in this Asia Cup opener. And that is a worrying factor for them!

There is not much to talk about Sri Lanka’s batting. A complete failure with the bat and the whole Sri Lankan team total did not even cross Mushfiqur Rahim’s score alone! Kusal Mendis and Dananjaya de Silva bagged ducks while only three of their batsmen got into 20s!

Tamim Iqbal needs a special mention for his bravery! This opener fractured his hand in the second over of Bangladesh innings and came out to bat with their scorecard reading 229 for 9 in the 47th over. One-handed Tamim then faced just a delivery but provided the much needed support to Rahim! The pair added 32 runs for the last wicket which were all scored by Rahim.

Match Summary:

Bangladesh– 261 all out in 49.3 overs (Mushfiqur Rahim – 144, Mohammad Mithun – 63, Lasith Malinga – 4/23, Dhananjaya de Silva – 2/38) beat Sri Lanka – 124 all out in 35.2 overs (Dilruwan Perera – 29, Upul Tharanga – 27, Mustafizur Rahman – 2/20, Mehidy Hasan – 2/21) by 137 runs

Player of the Match:

Mushfiqur Rahim (Ban) – 144 runs



Playing XI: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

Bench:Nazmul Islam, Ariful Haque, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque

Sri Lanka:

Playing XI: Upul Tharanga, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera (wk), Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews (c), Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Amila Aponso, Dilruwan Perera

Bench:Niroshan Dickwella, Kasun Rajitha, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dushmantha Chameera


*Photo credits to the Indian Express

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *