Australia v NZ

Australia v NZ

Australia Take on the Blackcaps

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16


Match Preview


Australia enter their final group game against New Zealand knowing their place in the final is assured. The Black Caps need to win one of their last two games to guarantee their place in the decider.

Australia currently have a one hundred percent record in the tri-series, but that won’t stop New Zealand with trying to get the upset victory.

New Zealand are traditionally stronger at Eden Park, with the Aussies having struggled to crack the famous fortress.

The last time the two sides met here Marcus Stoinis made a name for himself with a brilliant 146*.

With their place already booked in the final, Australia will be looking to gain a psychological edge over the Blackcaps. The Blackcaps struggled against the Aussies in the opener with their top-order struggling against the extra pace of Billy Stanlake.

New Zealand will be looking to the likes of Colin Munro and Martin Guptil at the top of the order. With the short boundaries at Eden Park, some big scores should be on the cards. Australia will be counting on the likes of D’Arcy Short and Chris Lynn to chase down a score against the Kiwis. Glenn Maxwell remains the form player of the competition.

The Aussies have the momentum and have the firepower to get across the line in NZ.


 Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

 Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler.


First T20I Australia won by seven wickets. 

 Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7.

 Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. 

 Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

 Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

 Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

 Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21


The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *