Australia Crush the Blackcaps

Australia Crush the Blackcaps

Australia Destroy New Zealand in the T20 International

Match Wrap

Australia showed a willingness to improve their dismal T20I ranking by trouncing the Blackcaps in the first T20I at the SCG.

New Zealand were outclassed from ball one as Bill Stanlake took 3-15 on his T20I debut including the crucial wicket of Kane Williamson. Stanklake regularly hit 150km/hr in a devastating opening spell. The Blackcaps never recovered losing wickets at regular intervals.

Ross Taylor (24) and Colin de Gandhomme (38*) were able to put together a fifty partnership that gave the Blackcap’s bowlers something to aim for the in the field. After a short rain delay the Blackcaps were able to make early inroads into the Australian top-order. D’Arcy Short (4) and David Warner (6) both fell cheaply to Southee and Bolt.

Chris Lynn came in at number three for Australia and didn’t disappoint. The Australian was recently acquired by Kolkata in the IPL auction. Lynn and Maxwell were able to close out the innings with ease before Lynn fell in the last few overs.

Billy Stanlake was named Man of the Match for his bowling performance. Australia will play England in Hobart next on Wednesday 7th February.


Match Summary:

New Zealand 117 (Colin De Grandhomme 38, Andrew Tye 4-23)

Australia 3/96 (Chris Lynn 41, Glenn Maxwell 40)

Australia win by seven wickets DL

Man of the Match: Billy Stanlake 3-15


Australia XI: David Warner (c), D’Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Billy Stanlake.

New Zealand XI: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Tom Bruce, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Blundell (wk), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.


Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series


Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler.


First T20I Australia won by seven wickets. 

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7.

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. 

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21


The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *