The Strikers Defeat Hurricanes

Strikers Defeat Hurricanes

The Strikers Blitz the Hurricanes in the BBL Decider

The Adelaide Strikers have destroyed the Hobart Hurricanes to claim their first BBL title.

Jake Wetherald stung the Strikers with the innings of the tournament. Opening the batting with Alex Carey Weatherald smashed his maiden BBL century (115). His century included nine four and eight sixes off seventy balls.

Wetherald found an ally in Strikers captain Travis Head. Head bludgeoned 44 from 29 balls and Colin Ingram 14 from 6 balls. The Strikers were able to close out the innings with over 200 runs on the board. The Strikers 2/202 was a record for a BBL final.

The Hurricanes struggled to match the pace of the Strikers having played their best game of the tournament in the semi-final. The Hurricanes made the bizarre decision to send Matthew Wade in at number six. The former Australian keeper smashed 71 in the semi-final, was run-out for a diamond duck.

D’Arcy Short (68) top scored for the Hurricanes and all-rounder Dan Christian finished 29*.

The Strikers veteran Peter Siddle proved to be the difference with the ball. Siddle took 3-17 including the key wicket of Short.

Jake Weatherald was named man of the match and D’Arcy Short was named the player of the BBL.

ADS 202/2 (20.0 Ovs)

HBH 177/5 (20.0 Ovs)

Adelaide Strikers won by 25 runs

PLAYER OF THE MATCH: Jake Weatherald



The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *