BBL Final Preview: Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes

BBL Final Preview: Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes

BBL Final Preview: Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes

Adelaide Oval – Sunday 4th February

The Hurricanes shocked the BBL world by blitzing the Scorchers in Perth. The Hurricanes will be looking to go one better after their only Grand Final appearance in 2013. The Hurricanes won’t be fazed playing the final away from home.

The Strikers will be looking for a lift from the Adelaide crowd. The Strikers will be relying on the likes of Colin Ingram to provide the fireworks with the bat. Ingram has a had a superbly in his first season in the BBL with a strike rate of 137.17

Rashid Khan looms as a key player with the ball. Labelled a genius by many of the Australian players, the Afghan spinner has 13 wickets at a stunning economy rate of 5.52.

The Hurricanes snuck into the finals on the back of three losses. While the Hurricanes blitzed the Scorchers in Perth, they still believe they have not had their perfect game. Without D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade will open at the top of the order. Wade smashed a BBL best 71 against the Scorchers and is hungry for runs.

The Hurricanes made the brave call to leave international Tymal Mills on the sidelines for the semi-final. In his place, their attack will be led by Jofra Archer. Archer has recommitted the Hurricanes for a further two seasons on the back of his performance this year. Archer has captured 15 wickets at an economy rate of 7.63.

Both sides will be boosted by the return of their Australian stars. D’Arcy Short will slot into the top of the order for the Hurricanes. Short had a breakout season becoming the all-time leading runscorer in the BBL with 504 runs.

The Strikers will be playing in their first ever BBL decider. Skipper Travis Head and keeper Alex Carey will re-join their team-mates after helping Australia win the first T20I of the Summer at the SCG against the Blackcaps.

Adelaide Strikers: Travis Head (c), Alex Carey (wk), Wes Agar, Jono Dean, Colin Ingram, Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Michael Neser, Liam O’Connor, Peter Siddle, Jake Weatherald, Jon Wells, Nick Winter 

Hobart Hurricanes: George Bailey, (c), Jofra Archer, Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian, Alex Doolan, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Simon Milenko, Tim Paine, Tom Rogers, Clive Rose, D’arcy Short, Matthew Wade


The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *